Several Noreasters Star Collegiately

Host of Ocean City Standouts Named to All-Conference Teams Across the Nation

More than fifteen current and former Nor’easters grace the All-Conference squads at the highest level of collegiate soccer for their standout performances during the fall 2014 season. 

Monday, November 24, 2014

Ocean City, NJ – Eleven Ocean City standouts who starred for The Storm this past summer proved to be among NCAA Division-I soccer’s elite while representing their colleges and universities this fall.

Nor’easters captain Shawn McLaws wrapped up his senior season at Costal Carolina by repeating as Big South Defensive Player of the Year and First Team All-Big South honors. McLaws’ back line mates at the shore, Jhamie Hyde and Ambry Moss, were also recognized for outstanding play this season. Hyde starred for Hartford’s defense and received Second Team All-America East accolades. Moss was the lynchpin of Northeastern’s back four and was named to the Colonial Athletic Association’s All-Conference Second Team.

Ocean City goalkeepers Borja Angoitia and Eric Klenofsky set a new standard for the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference in net. Borja played every minute for Quinnipiac and was named the MAAC Goalkeeper of the Year. Klenofsky shone for Monmouth and took home All-MAAC Second Team honors.

Three Nor’easters midfielders proved to be top-class on and off the collegiate pitch this fall. Alec Golini (Lafayette) earned the Patriot League Outstanding Leadership and Character Award, and Ian Hines-Ike and Manuel Montal Martinez were each named to their conferences first-teams. Hines-Ike (Seattle U.) in the Western Athletic Conference and Montal Martinez (Central Arkansas) in the Missouri Valley Conference.

The Storm boast three strikers recognized by their respective conferences for outstanding play. Machel Baker led the Quinnipiac attack and was named First Team All-MAAC. Aaron Dennis carried-over his lethal scoring ability to the collegiate pitch, lead the Villanova Wildcats in goals and assists, and earned All-Big East Second Team recognition. Javoni Simms, Hartford’s leading scorer this fall, received America East First Team honors.

Six Ocean City alumni from the 2012 Mid-Atlantic Division-winning and 2013 PDL Eastern Conference Championship-winning squads also represented their colleges and universities at the highest level this fall. Sonimi Halliday (Rider) was named to the All-MAAC First Team, Markus “Duke” Lacroix (UPenn) earned First Team All-Ivy honors, Mitch Taintor (Rutgers) made the All-Big 10 Tournament Team, Tyler Miller (Northwestern) was the Big 10 Goalkeeper of the Year, and Julian Plummer earned a spot on the All-Patriot League Third Team. 

Ocean City Nor'easters Club Shop

Ocean City Nor'easters Club Shop